Leftovers

I’ve been spending the last few days trying to decide what my next project is going to be on the homestead.  And as I’ve yet to start the rest of the yard clean-up, I need to get a move on that!

I have bits and pieces of pallets left over from the compost bin project, so I’m going to try and create something from them instead of just tossing it into the burn pile.  There isn’t much of it, so maybe a simple planter for an herb garden on the back patio?   Or maybe a planter and frame for climbing beans or peas…

Either way, I get to use the drill again!!  Maybe I’ll try to use some of the bigger pieces of fallen branches along with it and see what kind of creative look I can come up with!   …post and pictures to come! 🙂

What kind of fun things have you made from old scraps?  I’d love to get your thoughts and ideas!!!

20 thoughts on “Leftovers

  1. Hi! Yeah, I like the idea of using fallen branches in addition to the leftover pallet pieces!! It will have a rustic feel to it, then, I think. ^_^ I am looking into container gardening again next year ( but on a slightly larger scale than I’ve done in the past) and pallets are something I could cheaply get. Thanks for helping my wheels start turning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad I could help Valerie, and thank you for following!! 🙂 I’ll be doing a pretty big garden next year as well as containers. My goal is to try and grow enough (and buy the rest from local farmers markets) to be able to preserve enough to last us all of next winter. Prices are going up so high on everything that DIY is really the way to go…on pretty much everything!

      Like

  2. I just found out I am going to get all the free pallets I want from my son’s friend! I’m so excited! I have lots of things in mind and this post has given me even more. And, like you, I can’t wait to get my hands on a drill again!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great ideas! Well from ‘old scraps’ of retaining wall blocks we just created the outline of our new herb Garden ( see the pic at herbgardenstory.wordpress.com ) . The idea is hopefully going to grow into a lush green herb Garden! Suggestions are appreciated!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

