Garden by Design ~2~

In keeping with the “Daisy” theme, my next choice is Chamomile (Ka-mo-meel).

There are different types of Chamomile, and what I’m looking for is the most low-maintenance garden I can possibly get while still having good variety.  I’m choosing a mix of Roman and German Chamomile.  The German Chamomile is an annual, but it will re-seed itself if you leave some of the heads untouched.  It’s also a taller and more prolific species.  The Roman Chamomile is shorter and produces less blooms, but it is a perennial and won’t need to be re-planted every year.  Win-win!

chamomile-796381_960_720

Some of what I’ve read tells me that bees – as with feverfew – do not like Chamomile.  However a simple Google Images search put that theory to rest.  And since bees on my patio is something I’m trying to avoid, these will be planted elsewhere.  I’m thinking of putting patches of it around the perimeter of my vegetable gardens, as well as in My Secret Garden (that’s capitalized in anticipation for a future post!).

bee-on-chamomile

Chamomile Tea – The second most important reason I want these little pretties in my gardens.  (The first being that I simply just love them!)  There are so many health benefits associated with this simple delicate ‘he loves me, he loves me not’ flower, and being the eco-friendly little homesteader I want to be, this is really important to me.  Home remedies are becoming a top priority in my household, whether I’m the only one who knows it or not. (Shhh!)

I found this wonderful little post about the health benefits – it’s a really good read if you want to learn more about it!  Check out the list of everything you can do with this little go-getter!

** the following list is taken directly from naturalsociety.com – I did not create or alter it in any way, and it does not belong to me.  All credit is theirs – please click on the link to see the complete post **

  • Treats Cuts and Wounds
  • Helps with Diabetes
  • Antibacterial
  • Calms Muscle Spasms
  • Soothes Stomach Ache
  • Promotes Sleep
  • Natural Hemorrhoid Treatment
  • Fights Cancer
  • Promotes Healthy Skin

…plus, it tastes really yummy with a touch of honey!  (That one’s all mine!)

amazing-benefits-of-chamomile-tea-for-skin

With all of these amazing qualities – and I’m sure, many more – this is one superhero I definitely want in my garden!  Talk about multi-talented!!

7 thoughts on “Garden by Design ~2~

Leave a Reply

