Garden by Design ~1~

In my post – Waitin’ Out Winter – I mentioned that I wanted all of the plants I grow to have multiple purposes.  And so I started thinking almost immediately about what I want to grow.  Seriously, my brain never stops – sometimes I have to silently yell at it to shut up so I can sleep.  I’m not the only one, am I?

I have a feeling it’s going to be a long winter, so I’m going to try and stretch these posts out as much as I can, without becoming a bore.  (Please, if I start making you yawn, TELL ME!!!!)

So….Garden by Design is going to be another series of mine.  I’m not really going to dwell on what veggies I’m going to grow – those are all pretty standard – plant, grow, eat, preserve, seed, repeat.  They don’t really require a dual purpose.  I’m going to be concentrating on herbs and flowers.  In this first one…

Feverfew

They look like itty bitty baby daisies – and daisies are my favorite flowers.

c-360-feverfew

That’s not the reason I’m going to grow them – well, not the MAIN reason anyway!

I love flowers – I love pretty things, and these are just a bundle of HAPPY.  They’ll add color and sunshine to my gardens.  They will also attract pretty little hoverflies, who will in turn not only by my personal little pollinators (they’re actually right up there with bees as the most important pollinators…at least that’s what Wikipedia tells me haha!), but also keep aphids, mealybugs, and other little peskies away from my plants!  Bees don’t really enjoy the scent of feverfew, so I’ll be relying on the hoverflies wherever I plant these.  (Probably on my back patio – I just love the bees, but I’d rather avoid stings on pets and guests if I can!)

hoverfly
Hoverfly on a lilac in my front yard last Summer

Feverfew’s other purpose in my garden will be probably the most important one.  In trying to be more self-sufficient and live a greener more natural life, I’m also trying to shy away from traditional medicines.  That being said, I sometimes suffer from migraines and just plain nasty headaches that won’t go away unless I either sleep them off (which is not only inconvenient, but also not always an option), or take something strong.

pill_bottle_banner_0

This pretty little happy flower is said to have this mystical magical power that helps take those headaches away, without all the nasties found behind drug store counters!  So by adding this to my patio garden, I will in effect…

  • Add beauty
  • Invite beneficial insects
  • Remove pests
  • Protect pets and people from bee stings
  • Help eliminate drugs from my bathroom cabinet
  • Naturally help prevent (not cure) migraines and headaches

Hmmm…I’d say that’s a little more than dual-purpose!  YAY FOR FEVERFEW!!

feverfew-tea

 

(I’m not an expert or a doctor and the information above is a result of internet research – please do your own research, don’t just take my word for it!)

 

4 thoughts on “Garden by Design ~1~

Leave a Reply

